Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Oh I'm just a girl on a mission…

“I Think I Can, I Think I Can, I Think I Can…”

So, I’m still considering a few resolutions for this year, but these are the main ones I have right now.

1. Weight Loss: The biggest cliche resolution out there I know, the gyms are packed for the majority of January with people who have resolved to lose weight and tone up, and come February you hardly see half of them anymore. That’s why I’m waiting a bit to get my gym membership… I’ll work with my Turbo Jam till then. (On that note, I did a 40 minute TJ today! Cardio Party! So. Much. Fun.) How do I plan on losing weight you ask? For starters, I’ve made a schedule out for myself for TurboJam, and for the gym. I’ve made my mom a copy of said schedule (which also includes my class times since she always wants to to know what time I leave for school and when to expect me home for supper) and have hung it on the fridge as a constant reminder to stick to it! I also want to stay in touch with things that motivate me. I’ve made a new background for my laptop that will remind me why I want to get healthier and slim down; I’m following blogs, twitter accounts, and facebook groups that I find inspirational, and I’ve narrowed down specifics. By the end of January, I hope to lose 10 pounds, and by my work party at the end of February, I’m hoping for 20. To reward myself if I accomplish that, I plan on finally getting my belly button pierced (something I’ve wanted to do for a while now) and since it needs about 4 months to fully heal (I’ve done my research) February will be a good time to do that so I’ll be all set for summer.

2. Healthy Eating: Along with exercise and motivation, this will help with losing weight, but in order to maintain a healthy weight, I’ll need to change my eating habits and develop an overall healthier lifestyle. How will I accomplish this? I’ve found a ton of new recipes (that actually sound good) to try out, and I’ve been paying closer attention to serving size. When eating out with friends or family, I found that as long as I do my research first, I can still find a healthy option (for instance, this Thursday, I’m going for dinner with my best friends, and I’ve already looked up the nutrition information on the restaurant’s website and found three low calorie options that I can choose from when I get there) For January, I plan on cutting out all ‘junk food’ and fast food… and towards the end of February I will allow myself the occasional treat, as long as I pay attention to the portion control.

3. Cross three things off my Bucket List: I definitely want to achieve more things on my bucket list, and I’m going to look into a few options this year. I think if I focus on some of the ones that can be done at the same time, like camping and sleeping under the stars, I’ll be able to get more done… then make more too!

4. Write a novel. Those of you who read my January goals know I hope to have a whole chapter written by the end of the month, and I think if I can get into the swing of things by then, I’ll be able to finish the novel I’ve been dreaming about for the last five years. So for January, I hope to finish the first chapter, and then write two chapters in February.

These are my four main focuses for the year as of right now, today was a bit of a crazy day so I didn’t have as much time to focus on them as I originally intended. However, this is a start… I still have my monthly challenges to look forward to to make new resolutions, because afterall, who said a resolution needs to be made at the end of a year only? Someone on the news said it nicely the other day ‘sometimes you need to hit rock bottom to realize something needs to change, and there’s no reason to wait for the new year to start making those changes!”

Leave a Reply

