Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Oh I'm just a girl on a mission…

“We Will Still Be, Friends Forever…”

Ooh do I have a treat for you today!

So while I’m still refining my list of new year resolutions, and sulking about going back to school in less then two days, I decided to try my hand at a new recipe. I was reading Cosmopolitan the other day and came across a recipe for ‘Superlight Chocolate Chip Cookies” and saved the recipe for later. Not only are they low calorie (which is great for my new health kick that I’m going on) but they’re also flour/gluton free. As some of you may remember from my post on the flourless chocolate torte I made, one of my best friends of almost 15 years just discovered this summer that she was allergic to white flour, so when I find these gluton free recipes, I get a little extra excited now. It’s because I’m such a great amazing friend!

Before I give you the recipe, I have to tell you. These things are amazing. They’re so light and fluffy, and they actually taste really good! I won’t lie, I was iffy at first about the recipe, but I really enjoyed them. The recipe is really easy to follow as well… one of the easiest ones I’ve made so far on my baking discovery journey. Enjoy!

Superlight Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

4 Large Egg Whites
¼ Teaspoon Cream of Tartar
¾ Cup Sugar
½ Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
¾ Cup Mini Chocolate Chips (I used regular sized ones)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees and line baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks begin to form.

3. Pour in sugar ¼ cup at a time until incorporated.

4. Add vanilla and beat until glossy, stiff peaks form – be careful not to overbeat.

5. Gently fold in chocolate chips.

6. Drop by spoonful onto baking sheet and bake in the oven for 40 minutes (This is where I found the problem. I have little to no patience… So after about 25 minutes, they were golden brown, so I took them out. Tasted them. They tasted great. The second tray I let cook longer… didn’t like it as much. Still good, not great.)

After 25 minutes

After 40 minutes

7. Let cool before storing – you can store them for up to 2 weeks in an airtight container.

I know, I have no patience, but honestly, they tasted better after 25 minutes… But if you prefer to cook them the whole 40 minutes, they taste good that way too. I’m just a rebel like that.

One response to ““We Will Still Be, Friends Forever…”

  1. forevervintageblog January 3, 2012 at 12:13 am

    I love healthier options to yummy fatty foods. I am definitely going to give these unattractive cookies a whirl. I’m sure they taste better than they look, haha.

Leave a Reply

