Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Oh I'm just a girl on a mission…

“I Wanna be a Billionaire, So Freakin’ Bad…”

I think my post was magic yesterday… I said “let it snow” and it snowed today! So I’m going to try a magic post again…  fingers crossed this one comes true too! 😛

But completely unrelated to my title, today’s post includes a special treat…. another recipe! Yay!!! Honestly, I wasn’t sure what I would write about today, all I really did was work…. There weren’t even a bunch of crazy customers in today that made a funny story… nothing! But while stocking the canola oil on the shelf, an idea hit me! It’s been AGES since I made my own funnel cakes! Then of course, once I get an idea in my head… well… guess what I made? Hahaha

So for those of you who might not be familiar with funnel cakes,they’re mainly a carnival/fair type treat, also known as Elephant Ears or (mainly here in Canada) Beaver Tails! The Wikipedia definition states that ” Funnel cakes are made by pouring batter into hot cooking oil in a circular pattern and deep frying the overlapping mass until golden-brown.” They’re delicious! Most typcially, they are topped with icing sugar, strawberries, and whipped cream or ice cream…. or just icing sugar. But they can be topped with any fruit really. Or anything I guess… the ones I always see are topped with strawberries though…. and not just because strawberries are my favourite…. really. I think strawberry topping is the most common… 🙂

Anywho, I’ve made them before, but I couldn’t find the recipe… but guess what!? I found an even BETTER recipe! They’re fluffier and yummy… it’s so good!

When I make them homemade however, they don’t look exactly like that… and I’m too lazy to get extra toppings for them…. maybe next time.

Without further ado though,

Funnel Cakes:

1 egg
2/3 cup milk
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 1/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder

1. In a deep skillet, heat about two cups of oil over medium-high heat until hot. Test the temperature by dropping a pinch of flour into the hot oil. If it sizzles right away without smoking, it’s perfect.

2. Beat egg and milk together.

3. Mix all other ingredients in a separate bowl and slowly add to the egg mixture, beating until smooth.

4. Using a funnel (or my personal favourite, a ziploc baggie with the corner cut off – which also allows you to decide how thick you want the dough to be) drop into hot oil working from center outwards in a web pattern. (Or just make a crazy pattern…)

4. Cook for about 2-3 minutes, (About a minute per side) remove from the oil when golden brown and crispy.

5. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve

Just for the record as well, those are two different funnel cakes…. hence why the pattern is different. I made some, ran them to work for a friend, and then made more. I’m also sorry for the picture quality… I was using my phone.

Honestly, this is one of the easiest recipes I’ve tried, and they were so good and fluffy! Give it a shot! Trust me, they’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

