Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Oh I'm just a girl on a mission…

How Could You Dance if No-One Was Watching…

Hey y’all, sooooooooooo two days behind, not bad. I wasn’t feeling the greatest Sunday anywho so, you wouldn’t have gotten much out of a post then anyways. Today you get another baking blog though 😀 It was just one of those nights last night. So hopefully it makes up for the lackage.

Also, yesterday, I bought a classic collection dvd with all the Christmas classics on it – Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer (the claymation one) and Santa Clause is coming to Town, Frosty, Frosty Returns, Little Drummer Boy… all those classic Christmas movies that kids these days don’t appreciate. But then my friend yelled at me, so I took it back today (and all the people in line couldn’t believe I didn’t want a dvd that epic). So I may go back tomorrow with the gift card I have and buy it (Save 20 bucks – It costs 28) You have no idea how excited I am to actually go out and get the dvd again and watch some Christmas classics! So thrilling!

On a somewhat unrelated note (ok completely unrelated) my friend recently got me hooked on the band ‘The Naked and Famous’ – I’m falling in love with so many of their songs. Today’s blog title is from their song “Girls Like You”

So anywho, yesterday was a crazy day at school, so last night I pulled out the baking pans and made Rainbow Sprite Cupcakes 🙂

The recipe includes:

1 ½ cups of butter
2 cups of sugar
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 eggs
3 cups of flour
1 cup of sprite (that’s almost a can)

1. Mix the butter and sugar in a bowl until they form a crumbly base. (Use an electric beater; this will take a couple of minutes to do)
2. Add the lemon juice and vanilla extract to the mix.
3. Add the eggs, one at a time, to the mix, blending the mix until it is smooth. (So time consuming, but again, much easier with an electric beater)
4. Alternate adding the flour and sprite to the batter. (I started with the flour, because there was more, then some of the sprite, then more flour, more sprite, etc. Etc…. it took me about 4 turns to do this – don’t add the sprite until the flour is blended in well with the batter each time.)
5. Preheat oven to 350. (Usually this is step one, but you really don’t need to do it just yet, the rainbow will take some time – if you don’t want to make the rainbow cupcakes, and just leave them as regular cupcakes, you can stop here)
6. Divide the batter into equal parts and add food colouring. (I poured some of the batter into my small measuring cup, mixed my first colour, and then dumped the batter into a plastic cup, then washed the small measuring cup and repeated until I had all four colours I wanted)

Food Colouring

7. Pick one colour, drop a spoonful of it into the bottom of each cupcake tin. (try not to drop them all into the center… put some off to the side) Repeat with each colour until the cupcake paper is full with batter. (You can do the same colour more than once, it looks cooler that way. Also, try to drizzle the colour into the cupcake paper, it looks a lot neater)
8. Once all cupcakes are filled, bake for 30-45 minutes, or until the edges turn a golden colour (they will don’t worry)

Add the colours one at a time

While the cupcakes are baking, you can make your own icing too. Simply mix a tablespoon of butter with a bit of icing sugar and a bit of milk (add more milk for a thinner icing, and more icing sugar for a thicker icing) Add food colouring if desired.

Rainbow Sprite Cupcakes

So that’s basically it today, cupcakes turned out great, everyone seemed to like them… I even took mini containers of icing for them to dip the cupcakes in 😀 So much fun.

Leave a Reply

