Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Oh I'm just a girl on a mission…

Do You Know the Muffin Man…?

Woo-hoo! Day two!

So today I’m dedicating my blog to two of my best friends, Gaggy, and Chelsea. Chelsea keeps telling me to start a baking blog whenever I bring in my experimental baking to school for everyone to try (since I’m too chicken to sample my own food apparently). Anywho, I don’t know why, but the past, let’s say three weeks, I’ve been in a real housewife/baking mood. I really don’t know why. I just sort of get bored of doing whatever it is I’m doing and decide, let’s bake something! Now, I’ve never been a baker. I left all that stuff to my mom and Baba. I mean sure, I’ve made the occasional batch of sugar cookies or peanut butter cookies… but I don’t consider those to be anything major. But then one day while stocking the shelves at work (I work at a grocery store for those who don’t know) I saw a recipe on the back of a bag of chocolate chips that were on sale, and thought ‘hey why not’. Usually my mom and I just buy those premade cookie dough’s that you literally just open and transfer from the package, to a cookie sheet, to the oven, but I’ve always wondered how hard it would actually be to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch. So, what better time to try than when they’re on sale. I bought the chocolate and then when my mom went to bed that night, whipped up a batch of cookies…. which I quickly got bored of waiting for since I only had one cookie sheet that held like, eight cookies at a time. So I started rummaging through the cupboard and found mini cupcake papers… and behold! The “mookie” (as my friends mom later termed it) was born! Mini Muffin Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Cookies and Mookies

Anywho, that was fun, so when I later found a recipe online by chance for rainbow brownies, well I just had to try it. But I’ll save that recipe for another day when I have nothing else to talk about. Last night I actually tried a recipe my mom saw on TV for Flourless Chocolate Torte, which I find is an extremely fun word to say. Torte. T-orte! Torte! Besides the joys of the word ‘Torte’, my friend Gaggy also found out recently that she’s allergic to white flour, and since I miss her terribly, the recipe made me think of her, and therefore I needed to try it. It went splendidly. The recipe was quite easy actually, a few more dishes to wash then I would have liked, since everything gets mixed separately, but still relatively simple.

So without further ado, the recipe:

Flourless Chocolate Torte (The Fancy Appearance)

10 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I used ten baking squares of semi-sweet chocolate. I could not find ‘bittersweet’ chocolate anywhere – semi sweet seemed the closest bet,)
3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
3 egg whites
5 egg yolks
2 Tbsp + 1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

1)  Preheat the oven to 300 °F.  Grease a 9-inch springform pan, line the bottom with parchment, then grease and dust the entire pan with sugar, tapping out any excess. (I didn’t have a springform pan – in fact being new to this whole baking thing, I don’t even know what a springform pan is – so I used a regular glass cake pan, it worked fine.)

2)  Melt the chocolate and butter in a metal or glass bowl placed over a pot of barely simmering water, stirring constantly.   Once melted, remove the bowl from the heat and let cool slightly. (Again, that seemed like more dishes than was necessary, so I put my chocolate and butter in a mixing bowl in the microwave for 40 seconds, stirred it, and then heated it in 20 second intervals, stirring in between, until it was melted)

3)  In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites with 2 Tbsp sugar until the whites hold a soft peak (when the whites curl when the beaters are lifted).  Set aside. (I attempted to do this with a whisk. It did not work. Use an electric mixer)

4)  In another bowl, whip the egg yolks with the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar and the vanilla until doubled in volume, about 4 minutes.  (I used a whisk for this. It seemed to work. I may use an electric mixer next time however, just to see if it turns out differently)

5) Fold the melted chocolate mixture into the whipped yolks, and then fold the whites into the mixture in 2 additions.  Spread the batter into the prepared pan.

6)  Bake the torte for 35 minutes.(Or until you can stick a toothpick or knife into the center and have it come out clean. It will look a bit like brownies when it’s done)  As soon as you remove the cake from the oven it will begin to fall, but it is supposed to.  Cool the cake to room temperature then chill for at least 2 hours before slicing and serving. (I left mine in the fridge overnight)

My Flourless Chocolarte Torte

Today, I took the torte to school with me, as well as a container of raspberry pie filling, and let my friends dig in. They all said they liked it… It is very rich though just on it’s own, so I do recommend the raspberries to tone down the chocolate overload a bit (though I’m sure any other berry filling would work) Overall though, it turned out fantastic, now to decide what to make for everyone next week…. I’m starting to get a knack for this baking thing…

One response to “Do You Know the Muffin Man…?

  1. Pingback: “We Will Still Be, Friends Forever…” « Just a Girl Trying to Find Her Place in This World

Leave a Reply

